Let justice roll

I never tire of visiting Niagara Falls.  I’ve gone countless times since we moved to CNY and each time I visit I find myself pulled to the same viewing point. It’s not the panoramic view of the Horseshoe Falls and the American Falls in full array. Though that is an amazing sight.  It’s not the overhead view from the tower where you can hardly see through the mist that sprays up from the cascading water below. Though that is a spectacular view.  And it is not the view from the front of the Maid of the Mist where the sound of the falls is deafening as it thunders in front of you. Though that is an awe-inspiring experience.  No, I find myself drawn to the top of the falls just before the water drops over the edge.  That’s the view that captures me.  There it is not a falls but a river. A river that is quiet, determined and unable to be stopped.

 
 
But let justice roll down like waters, and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream.  Amos 5:24
The picture that this scripture paints of justice reminds me of the water that flows over the edge of Niagara Falls.  It is endless, flowing winter, summer, year after year.  It is determined and defies anyone who would think to stop it.  It is powerful, unrelenting in its push forward.  Let justice roll down like waters.
I am just days away from embarking on an initiative of justice with my community.  May it be endless, determined, powerful and unrelenting as well.
Leave a comment

Filed under Global Reflections

Leave a Reply

