Speak Up

360 – days since I first saw a child held in slavery

239 – days since I asked my country to help that child by passing the Child Protection Compact Act

83 – days since I visited Senator Gillibrand’s office to ask her to bring this legislation to Congress for a vote

54 – days since I visited Senator Schumer’s office to ask him to vote yes

47 – days since Senator Schumer said yes and became a co-sponsor on this same bill

1 – day until I call them and ask them to use the small window of time left in this year’s legislative session to make a difference for that child I saw 360 days ago.

I know it might be a stretch to think that this piece of legislation, the Child Protection Compact Act, will actually touch that boy on Lake Volta, Ghana.  But I know that once passed it will help those held captive in the modern-day slave trade.  There is a small window of time to ask our Senators to pass this legislation, just weeks before they break for Christmas and the newly elected Congress arrives on Capitol Hill.  If it’s not passed this year what will we do?  We’ll start over again.  We might be delayed, but we won’t forget.

How can you help?  It’s simple and fast.  Call the 2 New York State Senators below and use this script:

Hello my name is ___________ and I am a constituent from ______(state).  I’m calling to ask the senator to vote “yes” on the Child Protection Compact Act (S. 3184).  Thank you.

Senator Schumer  (202) 224-6542

Senator Gillibrand  (202) 224-4451


If you live outside the great state of New York find your Senator here.

And then pass this along to others.  Wednesday, November 10 is the National Call In Day for those that want to see this bill passed.  Even if you miss the big push, call another day this week, or next.

Join me in making a difference and speaking up for those that can not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Global Reflections

Leave a Reply

