Activist

My daughter said I was becoming “quite the activist” lately.  I hadn’t intend to become an activist.  I wasn’t even sure I liked the sound of it.  So I looked it up.

ac-tiv-ist [ak – tuh – vist] – noun   an especially active, vigorous advocate of a cause, esp. a political or social cause.

And I think she’s right.  In less than a month I’ll be at the World Vision Women’s Conference in Washington DC where I will advocate, vigorously advocate, I might add, according to the definition, for some specific social causes.   To be honest, I didn’t like the sound of  “social cause”.  Seemed a little too radical.  Until I looked it up.
so-cial [soh – shuh l]  cause [kawz]   of or pertaining to the life, welfare and relations of human beings in a community;  activities designed to alleviate certain unfavorable conditions of life in a community, esp. among the poor.

That is exactly what I’m going to do.  And I like the sound of it.
This week I’d like to give you a glimpse into the social causes that have invaded my life and heart over the past few years.  By the end of the week maybe you’ll find yourself to be an activist too.

3 Comments

Filed under Global Reflections

3 responses to “Activist

  1. Pingback: The North Star – a beacon of hope « reflecting from here

  2. Maplethorpe

    I find that I am somehow becoming an activist too, albeit in a more unconventional manner. I like being an ‘activist’ outside of any organization. The only problem with being part of an organization is that you get all the stereotypes associated with it. Sometimes they’re good stereotypes, but typically there are certain words in an organization’s title that makes people disinterested in them. You should be familiar with this concept as you admitted to ‘not liking the sound’ of certain words.

    I wish you the best of luck! Hopefully you can cause change for the best.

  3. Nice! I after a couple years of learning, researching, studying and watching the news… I am thinking the same way. I am not part of any organization yet but there are so many issues today that need attention and correction that I will soon, with some guidance probably. Exposing and fighting the corruption that affects society the most is a growing passion of mine with hardly any outlet yet.

Leave a Reply

