Why I love to read the newspaper

The early morning walk to the curb gets me out of the house. (I miss our first dog Wiz, who would actually go retrieve the paper for us each day)

There are enough sections for everyone who wants to read.  No waiting.

It goes great with coffee.

I love to be exposed to and read about things I would never choose to or even know to “google”.  I may not read every article, but I can read a little about a lot.  I like that.  And when something really catches my eye – I’m hooked and I didn’t even know I was interested when I was walking to the curb!  And that’s the main reason I really love to read the newspaper.

Today was no exception.  Nicholas D. Kristof wrote a compelling review of a book that is already on its way to my house, The Power of Half. It’s an intriguing story of a teenager who convinced her family to sell their large (oversized for their family) house and give half the money away to someone in need.  You can read the entire article here.   Did they miss their big house?  Nope, they said that the smaller house actually encouraged them to spend more time around each other because there was less space.  A benefit to giving they never expected.

I grew up in a very small 2 bedroom house, 1 bathroom, 1 living room, 1 kitchen, no basement.  When my brother and I grew too old to share a room my dad converted the 1 car garage into a bedroom.  Three steps down from the living room and I told everyone at school we now had a 2 story house!  It was tiny.  But my mom always said, love grows best in little houses.  She loved the song by Doug Stone, Little Houses.

But you know, love grows best in little houses,
With fewer walls to separate,
Where you eat and sleep so close together.
You can’t help but communicate,
Oh, and if we had more room between us, think of all we’d miss.

So today the newspaper brought me nostalgia, a new book to read and yes, that brisk walk to the curb before sunrise.

I can’t wait to see what tomorrow’s brings.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Why I love to read the newspaper

  1. There were 6 kids in our family….4 girls and 2 boys in a 3 bedroom house. 4 girls in one small bedroom. We survived!

  2. Did you just survive or do you think you thrived due to the small space?

Leave a Reply

