Re-entry

What makes it so hard to re-enter life after being away on vacation?  In the past 8 years of working I’ve only returned to the work place one time after being away on vacation that I wasn’t ready to cry or quit by the end of the first day back.  And the longer I’m away, the more refreshed I feel at the end of vacation, but the harder it is to return to “real life”.  I haven’t quite figured it out yet.

When we were first married Russ and I talked about the ‘work then retire’ arrangement and how it was backwards.  A much better idea, we thought, would be to “retire” (travel, relax, pursue our hobbies and passions) for 20 years and then work for the next 30+ years.  We proposed the idea to a few people to see if they’d be willing to help us out with that on the financial side, but there were no takers.  We would have been surprised if there had been!  I still think it’s a good idea, just hard to implement.

Yesterday I wanted to cry at the end of the day.  But today, it wasn’t so bad.  A good night’s sleep last night, lunch with 2 wonderful co-workers, dinner prepared for me when I got home and a batch of chocolate chip cookies to end the evening were all a good recipe to re-enter and enjoy my real life.

4 Comments

Filed under Misc

4 responses to “Re-entry

  1. Courtney

    So will you help fund me to retire and then work? By the time I need to work I’ll have to take care of you guys so that can be my repayment…

  2. Hmmm, how will you take care of us if you’re working? Drop us off at senior day care? I’ll have to get back to you on that.

  3. Caitlin

    Wait – I thought the plan is for Courtney to become a millionaire so the rest of us can sit around and read books on the beach?

  4. That’s my kind of senior day care!

Leave a Reply

